Skip to main content

The bill for domestic water service shall be delinquent if not paid within 25 days from the date it is rendered.

Services terminated for delinquency shall not be restored until all outstanding charges are paid in full, including a charge for restoration of service as provided for in CVWDC 3.05.320, a late charge as provided for in subsection (B) of this section, and delinquency charge as provided for in subsection (C) of this section. An updated application may be required.

If the manner of payment of the delinquent amount is not accepted by the paying bank for any reason, domestic water service may be terminated immediately without further notice. Domestic water service will not be restored until all outstanding charges are paid in full, including a returned payment charge, as applicable and provided in CVWDC 3.05.260(E).

A customer having a delinquent account on one property may not receive domestic water service on another property until the delinquent account has been paid, including penalties, if any. A customer whose domestic water service has been terminated for nonpayment of a delinquent account or whose deposit has been applied in whole or in part to the payment of any delinquent account, will be required to make a cash deposit in accordance with CVWDC 3.05.270(B). Additionally, when domestic water service has been terminated for nonpayment, all charges may be transferred to another account held in the sole name of the same owner and the owner shall be given written notice of that transfer. This account shall become delinquent if payment is not made within 15 days from the date of delinquency transfer and will be subject to turnoff without further notice. The district may file liens against the property or any properties owned by the delinquent customer within the state of California to enforce collection of delinquent accounts as provided in Cal. Water Code § 31701.5.

A. Liens and Tax Roll. The district may file liens and/or initiate a tax roll against the property or any properties owned by the delinquent customer within the state of California to enforce collection of unpaid water and other services as provided in the Cal. Water Code § 31701.5.

B. Late Charge. A late charge of one and one-half percent per month will be charged on all delinquent domestic water accounts with balances exceeding $20.00.

C. Delinquency Charge. A delinquency fee will be charged each month as a domestic water account becomes delinquent; provided, that: (1) the account has a delinquent balance exceeding $20.00; and (2) is not paid within 40 days from the date the bill is rendered. Customers with timely payment histories during the previous 12-month period prior to being charged a delinquency fee shall have the delinquency fee waived upon request. The amount of the delinquency fee is set forth in Appendix Y of this chapter, as said amount may be revised from time to time. (Ord. 1399.12 § 6-4, 2017)

Loading…